Commission Excellence Awards

The NAPC Commission Excellence Awards are given on a biennial basis at Forum and are intended to highlight ‘best practices’ and exceptional accomplishments by commissions at the local level, for both large and small communities, to protect historic districts and landmarks through legislation, education and advocacy. Award categories include Best Practices – identification and protection of historic resources, public outreach, and technology – and Commission of the Year. Recognition as part of the Commission Excellence Awards is an effective way to build public support for preservation in your community. Past award recipients have included collaborative video projects, free tax credit workshops, house fairs, and innovation in design guidelines and historic resource surveys.

Our 2014 awards ceremony will be held at Forum 2014 in Philadelphia, PA, on Saturday, July 19 as part of the NAPC Annual Meeting. We hope you can join us for this great celebration of outstanding preservation projects from across the country!

Please contact Paul Trudeau, NAPC Program Director, with any questions about the awards program at or 706-369-5881.

Past Awards Programs
2012: Norfolk, VA
2010: Grand Rapids, MI
2008: New Orleans, LA

2010 Public Outreach/Advocacy winners - Grand Rapids, MI Historic Preservation Commission