Commission Excellence Awards

2010 Public Outreach and Advocacy Award winners, the Grand Rapids Historic Preservation Commission

The NAPC Commission Excellence Awards are given on a biennial basis at Forum and are intended to highlight ‘best practices’ and exceptional accomplishments by commissions at the local level, for both large and small communities, to protect historic districts and landmarks through legislation, education and advocacy.

Award categories include:
Best Practices (Identification/Designation, Protection, Public Outreach/Advocacy, and Technology)

Commission of the Year.  Nominations are judged on (a) the magnitude and degree of difficulty, (b) comprehensiveness, quality and excellence, and (c) the impact and results of the achievement; and (d) the leadership exemplified by the commission.

2012 Award Winners
2010 Award Winners
2008 Award Winners